Home Contact

National Coal Transportation Association


Education Committee

The NCTA Education Committee consists of Education Committee Chairman, Jared Wicklund of The Empire District Electric Company and NCTA Board member and Vice Chairman of the Education Committee, Sharon Robinson from Blackhawk Mining. The Committee oversees the NCTA scholarship program which awards eight annual scholarship awards of $1,500 each.

Four of these scholarships are awarded on an annual basis to dependent sons and daughters of full time employees of NCTA member companies in good standing. These are known as the Member’s Children Scholarships and are given to students who are entering their college junior or senior year at any accredited non-profit college or university. The NCTA also provides four annual scholarships to select universities representing the service territories of our members. The faculty or dean of the university or college then chooses the applicant and notifies NCTA of the award recipients. Due to budget constraints, the university scholarships were not awarded in 2016. Committee members or other members often represent the NCTA at university ceremonies awardees are recognized.